Live −10%
Still WhatsGaming — just better. New look, faster site, same trusted team — welcome to 2.0
−10% Future Stars · 9D 22H left
FC 27

FC 27 PlayStyles Lab Explained: How It Works, the 3 PlayStyle+ Cap, and the Evo Order That Saves Your Card

What EA has confirmed, the cut from five to three PlayStyles+, the ten PlayStyles EA rebalanced, and why you should Lab after your other Evolutions

A navy and gold PlayStyles Lab cover with the headline “FC 27 PlayStyles Lab Explained,” a subtitle about the 3 PlayStyle+ cap and Evo order, and the WhatsGaming.net logo centered at the bottom.

By Parth Raj, WhatsGaming · Last updated · FC 27 details are from EA's own posts and EA Help; FC 26 behaviour is from FUT.GG and EasySBC, linked where they're used.


Last summer you could take a blank card into the Lab and build a five-PlayStyle+ monster for free. Those days are gone.


The straight answer: the FC 27 PlayStyles Lab is back, but it's a different animal. It's a recurring Evolutions programme that lets you customise PlayStyles on eligible Ultimate Team items, and EA says it starts in Season 1. Cards no longer arrive blank: they come with some PlayStyles already applied, and you only choose the rest. On top of that, a single item can now carry three PlayStyles+ at most, down from five in FC 26. Start date, eligible cards and cost still aren't confirmed.


That's the short version. The long version is where it gets interesting, because ten PlayStyles got rebalanced this year and the Lab interacts with your other Evos in a way nobody's warning you about.


PS+ CAP PER ITEM

3

Down from 5 in FC 26. Applies to every item, Lab or not.

LAB STARTS

Season 1

Season 1 ends 22 October, 07:59 UK. No exact date yet.

CARDS ARRIVE

Pre-set

Some PlayStyles are pre-applied. You only pick the rest.

FC 27 PlayStyles Lab at a glance

Statuses below come from EA's FC 27 FUT Deep Dive and EA's general Evolutions rules. Anything marked "not confirmed" is FC 26 behaviour or simply unknown.

FC 27 PlayStyles Lab: what's confirmed and what isn't — as of 14 October 2026
QuestionAnswerStatus
Is the PlayStyles Lab in FC 27?Yes, as a recurring programmeConfirmed
When does it start?Season 1 (no exact date)Season only
Do cards start blank?No, some PlayStyles come pre-appliedConfirmed
Max PlayStyles+ per item3 (was 5 in FC 26)Confirmed
Max base PlayStylesNot stated for FC 27 (8 in the FC 26 Lab)Not confirmed
Is it free?Not stated (FC 26's Lab was free)Not confirmed
Do all PlayStyles cost the same?No, some take more time or effortMethod unknown
Which cards are eligible?Not named yetNot confirmed
Can you sell a Lab card?Not while the Evo is on itEA rule

Everything in that right-hand column matters. A lot of what you'll read elsewhere is FC 26 behaviour presented as if it's already confirmed for FC 27. It isn't.

What is the PlayStyles Lab in FC 27?

The PlayStyles Lab is a part of Evolutions that lets you pick which PlayStyles an eligible player item gets, instead of being stuck with the ones EA printed on the card.


In FC 27, EA describes it as a returning, recurring programme starting in Season 1. Eligible items come with a set of PlayStyles already on them, and you fine-tune the remaining slots. EA's stated reason is to keep each card feeling like the real player while pushing people towards more varied squads.


So it's customisation, not a blank canvas. You're finishing someone else's sentence.

PlayStyles Lab in the EA FC Ultimate Team Evolutions menuPlayStyles Lab in the EA FC Ultimate Team Evolutions menu

Where it came from

The Lab first appeared in FC 26 on 4 June 2026 with the summer update, replacing the old Birthday Bakery, according to EasySBC's FC 26 breakdown. It sat in the Evolutions menu with two tabs: a PlayStyles+ Lab and a base PlayStyles Lab.

What's actually changing from FC 26?

Cards now arrive with PlayStyles pre-applied, and every item is capped at three PlayStyles+. Here's the side-by-side. FC 26 details come from FUT.GG's FC 26 Lab explainer and EasySBC; FC 27 details come from EA.

FC 26 PlayStyles Lab vs FC 27 PlayStyles Lab — FC 27 column limited to what EA has published

FC 26 LabFC 27 Lab
Starting stateMost eligible cards had zero PlayStyles and zero PlayStyles+Some PlayStyles pre-applied
What you pickEverythingOnly the remaining slots
PlayStyle+ LabTook a card with 2 or fewer PS+ up to 3Not detailed yet
Base LabTook a card with 7 or fewer base PlayStyles up to 8Base cap not stated
Item-wide PS+ cap53
CostFree, no cooldowns, repeatableNot stated
PlayStyle requirementsAny PlayStyle, same accessSome need more time or effort
PositionsAll, including goalkeepersNot stated

PLAYSTYLE+ SLOTS ON ONE ITEM

FC 26

+++++

5 max

FC 27

+++××

3 max

FC 27 Lab card

P??××

pick 2

Gold = a PlayStyle+ slot. P = pre-applied by EA, ? = yours to choose in the Lab, × = gone in FC 27. The Lab card is an example that arrives with one PlayStyle+ already applied.

The headline is the cap. In FC 26, endgame cards stacked five gold badges. In FC 27, three is the ceiling for every item, Lab or not.


And that ties into a bigger plan. In the same deep dive, EA says it wants the gap between base cards and end-of-year campaign cards to be meaningfully smaller than in FC 26, with roughly five fewer weeks of campaign squads across the year. The Lab getting tighter is part of that, not a random nerf.

KEY TAKEAWAY

You're no longer building a card from scratch. You're filling the gaps EA left, inside a hard limit of three gold PlayStyles.

When does the FC 27 PlayStyles Lab start?

EA has only committed to Season 1. There's no published start date, and EA's FUT developer launch update on 1 October didn't mention the Lab at all.


Season 1 ends on Thursday 22 October 2026 at 07:59 UK time, per FUT.GG's Season Pass tracker. If EA hits its own promise, the Lab lands in the next eight days.

  • 4 June 2026

    The PlayStyles Lab debuts in FC 26 with the summer update, replacing the Birthday Bakery.

  • 29 July 2026

    EA's FC 27 gameplay deep dive rebalances ten PlayStyles, including Low Driven Shot and Finesse Shot.

  • 2 August 2026

    EA's FUT Deep Dive confirms the Lab returns in Season 1 and caps every item at three PlayStyles+, the limit that leaked in late July.

  • 1 October 2026

    EA's FUT developer launch update goes out with no mention of the Lab.

  • 14 October 2026

    Still no Lab Evolution or eligible item named by EA.

  • Thu 22 October 2026, 07:59 UK

    Season 1 ends. If EA keeps to its own wording, the Lab arrives before this.

Some guides say the Lab has been live "from launch". EA's wording is Season 1, and as of 14 October I can't find a single EA post naming a Lab Evolution or an eligible item. Treat anything claiming otherwise as a guess until EA posts it.


Honestly? My money's on it arriving alongside a promo with its own item type, the way FC 26 tied it to the summer campaigns. But that's my read, not a leak.

How many PlayStyles+ can a card have in FC 27?

Three. That's the maximum number of PlayStyles+ on any single item in FC 27, confirmed by EA, down from five in FC 26.


It applies to every item, so the Lab can't push a card past it either. If an eligible card already arrives with one or two PlayStyles+ pre-applied, you're only choosing one or two more. Not three.


The cap first surfaced as a leak in late July before EA confirmed it, which is why some older pages still call it a rumour. It isn't anymore.

Is the PlayStyles Lab free in FC 27?

Nobody knows yet, and that includes me. EA hasn't said what the FC 27 Lab costs.


What EA has said is that requirements vary by PlayStyle, and some take more time or effort to get. That rules out the FC 26 setup where every PlayStyle was equally available and free. Whether "effort" means matches, objectives, tokens or coins hasn't been published.


For context, FC 26's Lab was free, with no cooldowns and no usage limits. The Bakery it replaced charged 100 FC Points or 15,000 coins per premium PS+ Evo, per FUT.GG's Birthday guide. So EA has done both free and paid versions. I'm not betting on either.

Which PlayStyles+ should you pick now that EA nerfed ten of them?

Spend your three gold slots on PlayStyles EA didn't rebalance, unless the role genuinely needs one it did. This is the bit that actually costs you games if you get it wrong.


With only three gold slots, every pick is expensive. And EA's FC 27 gameplay deep dive rebalanced ten PlayStyles, mostly to shrink the gap between having the PlayStyle and just having good attributes. Plenty of "best PS+" lists still recommend those ten without mentioning that any of it changed.

The ten PlayStyles EA rebalanced for FC 27 — and what it means for a PlayStyle+ slot
PlayStyleWhat EA changed in FC 27What it means for a + slot
Low Driven ShotShot speed boost removed; still adds accuracyPace of the shot now comes from your shooting stats and power
Finesse ShotAttributes matter more; gap between base, Finesse and Finesse+ narrowedA high-curve, high-finishing card without it loses less
Technical DribblerGap between PlayStyle and PlayStyle+ smallerThe + upgrade is worth less than last year
RapidDribbling animation boost slightly reducedSmaller edge over non-PlayStyle players
Quick StepSpeed boost reducedAcceleration attribute matters more
Pinged PassReceiver trap help removedIt's now purely about delivery
Tiki TakaAnimation speed boost and receiver trap help removedFocused on quick combinations only
JockeyExit-sprint boost reduced; non-PlayStyle players sprint fasterGap to non-Jockey defenders shrank
InterceptNon-PlayStyle players with high Interceptions got more reachGap to non-PlayStyle players shrank
Precision HeaderAccuracy boost rebalanced, PS vs PS+ gap narrowedThe + upgrade is worth less

PlayStyle+ description on an EA FC 27 Ultimate Team player card

My verdict on picks

Check whether a PlayStyle is on the list above before you burn a + on it. These nine don't appear in EA's rebalance list:

Power ShotIncisive PassAnticipateFirst TouchPress ProvenBruiserBlockWhipped PassGamechanger

That doesn't make them automatically better. It means their value hasn't been trimmed this year.


Some role thoughts, worded as the opinion they are:

  • Striker. Low Driven+ still adds accuracy, and on 30 September EA said it's monitoring feedback that near-post low drivens feel more potent than other finishes, while calling itself happy with the current shooting balance. Keep it if your striker's shot power is already high. If not, the + slot may be better spent elsewhere, because the speed now comes from stats. More on that in our FC 27 shooting guide.
  • Winger and CAM. Finesse+ is no longer the auto-pick it was. If the card has big curve and finishing, base Finesse plus a + on something untouched can be the smarter split.
  • Midfield. Pinged+ and Tiki Taka+ lost their hidden receiver bonus. Incisive Pass wasn't on EA's list.
  • Defence. Jockey+ and Intercept+ still help, but non-PlayStyle defenders got closer. Pace and defensive stats matter more than they did.

If you want to browse the full set by category, FUT.GG's FC 27 PlayStyles database lists all of them with a best-by-role section.

KEY TAKEAWAY

Three gold slots is not many. Don't spend one on a PlayStyle EA just watered down unless your card's stats can't cover the gap.

Should you Lab before or after your Evolutions?

After. Or at least, not before you've checked the chain.


Here's the trap. FC 27 Evos have entry requirements, and some of them cap how many PlayStyles a card can have. The Future Stars Academy Evo, for example, won't accept a card with more than seven PlayStyles, according to FUT.GG's Academy breakdown. Fill extra PlayStyle slots in the Lab first and you can price that card out of the next Evo.


The PS+ cap works the same way. If the Lab takes your card to three PlayStyles+, any later Evo that offers a + upgrade does nothing for you, because three is the hard ceiling.


FC 26 had its own version of this too: applying a cosmetic Evo that changed a card's rarity made it ineligible for the Lab.

How to check before you commit

  • Use Evolution Chain Preview. EA added it for FC 27 so you can see which Evos a card qualifies for after finishing the current one, and EA Help confirms later options get filtered by the item's resulting stats.
  • Look at PlayStyle-count requirements in each Evo you want, not just OVR and position.
  • Hold off on cosmetic Evos until you know whether the Lab cares about rarity this year.

Evolution Chain Preview screen in EA FC 27 Ultimate TeamEvolution Chain Preview screen in EA FC 27 Ultimate Team

One more detail: EA says evolved items are represented in Gallery Sets by their original base item, so Lab work won't move your Gallery score either way.

KEY TAKEAWAY

Run the Evo chain first, Lab last. Check PlayStyle-count entry rules and the 3 PS+ ceiling before you add anything.

Can you sell a PlayStyles Lab player in FC 27?

Not while the Lab Evo is on it. EA's Evolutions help page says a player item is untradeable while a standard Evolution is applied.


To sell, you'd have to use Remove All Evolutions. EA's rule is that an item becomes tradeable again after removing all Evolutions, but only if it was tradeable before any Evolutions were applied. Removing just the last Evo isn't enough. And EA is clear that removal is final and can't be undone.


That's how the FC 26 Lab worked as well: reset the card, lose the custom PlayStyles, get tradeability back. EA hasn't said anything Lab-specific for FC 27 yet, and with pre-applied PlayStyles now part of the card, I'd expect a reset to strip only what you added. That's an expectation, not a confirmation.

 Remove All Evolutions confirmation in EA FC 27 Ultimate TeamRemove All Evolutions confirmation in EA FC 27 Ultimate Team

Practical version: if you think you'll want to sell the card in a fortnight, don't Lab it.

Use it or flip it. Not both.

FC 27 PlayStyles Lab myths, sorted

Most of the confusion comes from FC 26 rules being repeated as FC 27 facts. Here's what the sources actually say.

FC 27 PlayStyles Lab claims checked against EA — as of 14 October 2026
Claim you'll seeWhat the source actually saysVerdict
"Lab cards start blank like FC 26"EA says eligible items come with some PlayStyles pre-appliedFalse
"You can still stack 5 PS+"EA caps every item at 3False
"The Lab is free"Not stated for FC 27. Only FC 26's was confirmed freeUnconfirmed
"The Lab's been live since launch"EA says Season 1; no Lab Evo or eligible item has been namedNo evidence
"Finesse+ and Low Driven+ are must-haves"Both were rebalanced by EA; Low Driven lost its speed boostOutdated
"Removing the last Evo makes it sellable"EA says you need to remove all Evolutions, and only if it was tradeable to start withFalse

What should you do before the PlayStyles Lab drops?

Keep your PS+ slots and your tradeable cards free until EA names the eligible items. Season 1 has about a week left, so here's the prep.



And if your club's light on coins for that first Lab target, you can grab FC 27 coins with a 72-hour money-back guarantee on every order. We're rated 4.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot, so you're not taking a punt on some random site.


For the wider picture on every Ultimate Team change this year, from Pathways to the Gallery, see our FC 27 FUT guide.

Reader Bonus
Skip the grind.
Keep the bragging rights.

60 hours of grinding? No thanks. Coin delivery starts instantly, backed by 100K+ players and a 72h money-back guarantee.

2Used today
Your codeBLOG5
Claim 5% Off 

FC 27 PlayStyles Lab FAQ

Is the PlayStyles Lab coming back in FC 27?

Yes. EA confirmed in its FC 27 FUT Deep Dive that the PlayStyles Lab returns as a recurring Ultimate Team programme starting in Season 1. Eligible items come with some PlayStyles pre-applied, and you customise the rest.

When does the PlayStyles Lab start in FC 27?

EA has only said Season 1. Season 1 ends on 22 October 2026 at 07:59 UK time, so if EA keeps to that, it arrives before then. No exact date or eligible items have been announced as of 14 October.

How many PlayStyles+ can a player have in FC 27?

Three. EA cut the maximum number of PlayStyles+ on a single item from five in FC 26 to three in FC 27, and the Lab can't exceed it. If a card already has PlayStyles+ pre-applied, you choose fewer.

Is the FC 27 PlayStyles Lab free?

EA hasn't said. It has confirmed that some PlayStyles take more time or effort to get than others, but not whether that means matches, objectives, tokens or coins. The FC 26 Lab was free with no limits.

Can you sell PlayStyles Lab players?

Not while the Evolution is applied, because evolved items are untradeable. EA says an item becomes tradeable again only after you remove all Evolutions, and only if it was tradeable before. Removal is permanent.

Should I use the PlayStyles Lab before or after other Evolutions?

Usually after. Some FC 27 Evos cap how many PlayStyles a card can have to enter, and a card already at three PlayStyles+ gets nothing from a later PS+ upgrade. Check Evolution Chain Preview first.

Sources

Checked on 14 October 2026. This page will be updated the moment EA names the Lab's start date, eligible items, cost or base PlayStyle cap.

// Your Vibe — rate this article
Thanks for your vibe — noted!
🔒SSL Encrypted
Fast Delivery
↩Money-back Guarantee
💬24/7 Live Support
★
★
★
★
★
4.7 Trustpilot
Final Whistle
Ready to build the Class of '27?

Debut cards hit the market at launch. Have the coins ready before prices spike.

Buy FC 27 Coins
AutomatedDelivery · 24/7